Installation

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

Finnish artist Eija-Liisa Ahtila has pioneered a new form of narration and moving image installation in contemporary art. For the first time, one of Ahtila’s video pieces, Horizontal, will be displayed on a giant LED wall measuring almost 50 square metres. This use of LED technology brings out the sculptural aspect of the work. Even connoisseurs of Ahtila’s work will be able to discover a previously unknown aspect of her oeuvre.
Horizontal is the formidable portrait of a single tree, or more precisely, a spruce. The spruce is common in many Scandinavian countries and part of the characteristic natural landscape. By isolating a single tree from the mass, Ahtila ennobles this conifer and assigns it the role of a protagonist. The giant image of the tree is not displayed in its familiar vertical form, however, but horizontally on a 12 metre long video wall consisting of 60 individual LED modules.

Upon closer observation, the work does not just display the image of a tree but also stages the technical apparatus, the carrier material, reflecting its possibilities and limitations. Presented in the big glass hall of the Lehmbruck Museum, which opens to Kant Park with unrivalled transparency, a complete image only emerges from the distance – from outside the museum. Seen from the room itself, the piece dissolves into myriad individual dots of light. Thus Horizontal inimitably unites art, nature and state-of-the-art technology.
Eija-Liisa Ahtila is best known for her large-scale video projections in which she breaks with cinematic convention and re-invents the possibilities of storytelling. With extreme precision she sets new standards for the moving image, exploring the depths and dramas of human nature. In 2000, she received the Vincent Award, followed by international solo exhibitions including at the Tate Modern, London, the Moderna Museet, Stockholm, and the Jeu de Paume, Paris. Eija-Liisa Ahtila lives and works in Helsinki.

The Eija-Liisa Ahtila presentation is part of the series entitled “Sculpture 21st”, in which the Lehmbruck Museum is presenting various positions on 21st century sculpture. Over the next few months, some of the major contemporary sculptors will present their works in the iconic glass hall, undertaking an assessment of the position of sculpture in the 21st century. Beside Eija-Liisa Ahtila, the list of artists includes Tino Sehgal (14.06.14 – 13.07.14), Monika Sosnowska (30.08.14 – 28.09.14), Erwin Wurm (11.10.14 – 9.11.14), and Antony Gormley (22.11.14 – 18.01.15).

Oktober 11 - November 9, 2014
Lehmbruck Museum Duisburg

Further information:

Matthew Barney

Installation

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

Die finnische Künstlerin Eija-Liisa Ahtila ist die Wegbereiterin für das Entstehen einer neuen Form der Narration und der kinematografischen Installation in der Gegenwartskunst. Erstmals ist mit Horizontal eine Videoarbeit von Ahtila auf einer monumentalen, knapp 50 m² großen LED-Wand zu sehen. Durch diesen Einsatz der LED-Technologie wird insbesondere der skulpturale Aspekt dieser Arbeit betont. Auch gute Kenner des Werkes von Ahtila können so eine bisher nicht gekannte Seite ihres Werkes entdecken.

Horizontal ist ein beeindruckendes Portrait eines einzelnen Baumes, genauer einer Fichte. In vielen skandinavischen Ländern ist die Fichte weit verbreitet und gehört zum charakteristischen Bild der Naturlandschaft. Indem Eija-Liisa Ahtila eine einzelne Fichte aus der Masse isoliert, adelt sie den Nadelbaum und weist ihm die Rolle eines Protagonisten zu. Allerdings erscheint das monumentale Bild des Baumes nicht wie gewohnt vertikal, sondern horizontal auf einer 12 m langen Videowand, bestehend aus 60 einzelnen LED-Modulen.

Bei genauer Betrachtung zeigt das Werk nicht nur das Abbild eines Baumes, sondern inszeniert ebenso den technischen Apparat, das Trägermaterial, und reflektiert dessen Möglichkeiten und Grenzen. Präsentiert in der großen Glashalle des Lehmbruck Museums, die sich mit unübertroffener Transparenz zum Kant Park öffnet, ergibt sich nur aus der Distanz – von außerhalb des Museums – ein vollständiges Bild. Wird die Arbeit im Innenraum betrachtet, löst es sich in viele einzelne Lichtpunkte auf. Damit verbindet Horizontal Kunst, Natur und modernste Technologien in unnachahmlicher Weise
Bekannt geworden ist Eija-Liisa Ahtila vor allem mit ihren raumgreifenden Videoprojektionen, in denen sie mit den Konventionen des Kinos bricht und die Möglichkeiten des Erzählens neu erfindet. Mit äußerster Präzision setzt sie neue Standards für das bewegte Bild und widmet sich menschlichen Abgründen und Dramen. Im Jahr 2000 erhielt sie den Vincent Award. Darauf folgten internationale Einzelausstellung u.a. in der Tate Modern, London, im Moderna Museet, Stockholm, im Jeu de Paume, Paris. Eija-Liisa Ahtila lebt und arbeitet in Helsinki.

Die Präsentation von Eija-Liisa Ahtila ist Teil der Ausstellungsreihe „Sculpture 21st“. Unter diesem Titel präsentiert das Lehmbruck Museum wechselnde Positionen zur Skulptur des 21. Jahrhunderts. Einige der wichtigsten Bildhauerinnen und Bildhauer der Gegenwart zeigen im Laufe der kommenden Monate ihre Werke in der ikonischen Glashalle und unternehmen damit eine Standortbestimmung zur Skulptur des 21. Jahrhunderts. Neben Eija-Liisa Ahtila sind weiterhin die Künstler Tino Sehgal (14.06.14 – 13.07.14), Monika Sosnowska (30.08. 14 – 28.09.14), Erwin Wurm (11.10.14 – 9.11.14) und Antony Gormley (22.11.14 – 18.01.15) beteiligt.

11. Oktober - 9. November 2014
Lehmbruck Museum Duisburg

Weitere Informationen unter:

Matthew Barney